E-fucking-nough

Okay, so I may have lied a few months back when I said I was done with law school.  I went back in the fall, and came to realize that I was right last spring.  When you are in law school, and you are only doing respectable work in classes you like (as opposed to the opposite in other classes), something’s telling you to get out, rather than pick a specialty.  Law school is hell, and unlike most of my classmates, I can’t find a desperate need to keep going.  There is simply no reality-based value I can see as being worth so many more years of suffering and trying to plot out a career I simply would not fit into.  So there:  Fuck it for good.  Back to my normal life for good, which, after a year and a half of law school, I have come to find was pretty good . . .

When you’re sitting around in your living room during the middle of the day, in the middle of the week, asking yourself if your life is really this easy, and your answer revolves around the word “obviously,” you must realize that you’ve been kind of an idiot to fuck it up (with something so detestable as law school/reading law).  But that’s just what we idiots like to do:  fuck things up.  For fuck’s sake, I turned a Ford Falcon into a Corvette.  I ride a mountain bike with one gear.  I still ride a fixie, which is so not popular/hip anymore.  I just got into fuel injection . . .

Granted, reading law is not so bad–at my age, I actually quite enjoyed reading through many of the cases.  At my age, I was able to relate to most of them quite easily, either via first-hand experience or through shared experience.  Unfortunately, law is not in the story or the minute details (most of the time); it’s in the rules (why cases should be remembered) that result from some idiot judge’s hot-air based sense of all-knowing ego/awareness, and I’m not the best guy to make a life of rules, at least legal ones . . .  Worse yet, it would only be a short matter of time before I would be thrown out of a court.  So many judges seem like former victims, and are such dicks; it would be so easy and fun to push their buttons.  They are only part of the reason why I have no faith in the legal system (another problem!) . . .  That Netflix thing over the x-mas break didn’t help either.

So, I guess I just need to do what I do, which is usually something quite close to whatever the heck I feel like doing.

Stay tuned for pics of a structural transmission tunnel, a tubing-based firewall, and eventually, maybe an exhaust system that exits in a really stupid place.  One day, the stupid car might even have a floor.

I guess now I can also start liking words again.  Maybe I should try writing . . .

lgback

2 Comments

Filed under story

2 responses to “E-fucking-nough

  1. How much longer do you have until you graduate? Seems like a waste to spend two years in law school with only what, two semesters left to finish? There IS good that can be done with a law degree…just playing devil’s advocate (and with how much you clearly detest law school Devil seems quite apt.) However, I empathize. I’m in my 30s and still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.

    • gashp

      Okay, so I guess you’re sure that you’ve nailed me as a long lost relative, and I suppose you’re right. I’m not that hard to find, but I only know how to have relatives (aside from a monk brother) via marriage (always includes alcohol). You know something of how this happened. We could trade an email.

Leave a Reply

